The Program Class Code is broken down into eight (8) separate fields, as follows:

Field 1 – Strategic Plan Initiative

Used for DERT's budgetary classification of broad scientific research areas.

Code DERT Budgetary Classification
1 Not used
2 Fundamental Research
3 Integrative Research
4 Health Disparities/Global Environmental Health
5 Exposure Science
6 Training/Career Development
7 Not used
8 Not used
9 Superfund Research (P42)
0 Superfund Training (U45 or R41-R44 Hazmat Training Grants)

Field 2 – Grants Management Specialist (GMS) Code

Grants Management Specialist responsible for fiscal management of the application. Some specialists that are no longer working at NIEHS are listed in case older records still exist for them.

GMS Code Grants Management Specialist
I
Barbara J. Gittleman
Grants Management Officer
Tel (919) 541-0585
barbara.gittleman@nih.gov
J
Lisa A. Edwards
Grants Management Team Lead
Tel (919) 541-0751
archer@niehs.nih.gov
K
Pamela B. Clark
Grants Management Officer
Tel (919) 541-7629
evans3@niehs.nih.gov
M
Robbie D. Majors
Grants Management Specialist
Tel (919) 541-0488
robbie.majors@nih.gov
N
Aaron Nicholas
Grants Management Officer
Tel (919) 541-7823
nicholaa@niehs.nih.gov
P
Molly Puente, Ph.D.
Grants Management Team Lead
Tel (919) 541-1373
puentem@mail.nih.gov
V
Michelle Victalino
Grants Management Officer
Superfund Research Program
Tel (919) 316-4666
victalinom@niehs.nih.gov
W
James R. Williams
Grants Management Officer
Tel (919) 541-1403
james.williams3@nih.gov
Y
Ashley W. Singh
Grants Management Specialist
Tel (919) 316-4593
ashley.singh@nih.gov

Fields 3 and 4 – Primary Science Code

Two-digit code describing the primary area of science. Blank codes are for future expansion of list.

Primary Science Code
01 Cellular/molecular
02  
03 Carcinogenesis /Cell Transformation
04  
05 Signal Transduction
06  
07 Human Genetics / GXE
08  
09 Genomic Integrity
10 Epigenetics
11  
12  
13 Metabolism
14
15 Exposure Assessment / Exposome
16 Mixtures
17 Stem Cell Biology and Cellular Differentiation
18 Structure-Function
19 Comparative Biology
20
21
22 Gene Polymorphism
23 Circadian Rhythms
24  
25 Superfund Basic Research (non-P42 applications)
26  
27 Breast Cancer Centers (U01)
28 Fracking
29 Children’s Centers (P50)
30
31 Environmental Health Sciences Centers (P20, P30)
32
33 Oceans and Human Health
34 Disaster Response
35 Superfund Basic Research Centers (P42)
36  
37 Counter Terrorism
38
39  
40 Gulf Oil Spill / DWH, Gulf Oil Toxicology
41 Cardiovascular
42 Circulatory / Blood (Bone Marrow)
43
44 Fetal Development / Teratogenesis
45 Developmental Origins of Health and Disease
46 Puberty
47 Aging
48 Diabetes
49 Digestive
50 Endocrine
51 Obesity
52 Immune
53 Autoimmune
54 Kidney / Bladder
55 Liver
56 Nutrition
57 Bone and Cartilage
58 Skin
59 Social / Built Environment
60 Nervous System (other - not related to neurodevelopmental or neurodegeneration)
61 Neurodevelopmental
62  
63 Neurodegenerative
64 Basic Mitchondrial Function
65 Reproductive System (Non-Gender Specific)
66 Female Reproduction
67 Male Reproduction
68 Microbiome
69 Respiratory
70 Tissue Engineering
71 Alternative Model Development
72 Predictive Toxicology/Assay Development
73 Bioinformatics / BISTI Related
74 Biosensors / Biomarkers
75 Computational Biology / Computational Methods for Exposure Assessment
76 Imaging
77 Metabonomics Technology
78 Nanotechnology
79 Proteomics
80  
81 Statistics / Algorithm Development
82  
83  
84 Systems Biology
85 Loan Repayment Program
86  
87 Institutional Training and Career Awards
88 Worker Education (U45)
89 ONES (secondary only)
90 AREA (secondary only)
91  
92 ELSI (Ethical Legal and Social Implications)
93 Environmental Justice / Environmental Health Disparities
94 Communication Research / EH Literacy
95 Cook Stoves
96  
97 Partnerships for Environmental Public Health / Community Research
98 Global Change / Climate Change
99 Epidemiology (secondary only)
00 No secondary code

Field 5 – Primary Program Administrator (PA)

Program Officer with primary scientific application management responsibility.

PA Code Program Administrators
A
Abee L. Boyles, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-7886
abee.boyles@nih.gov
B
Jim Remington
Program Analyst
Tel (919) 541-0035
remingtonj@niehs.nih.gov
C
Carol A. Shreffler, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-1445
shreffl1@niehs.nih.gov
D
Cindy Lawler, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Tel (919) 316-4671
lawler@niehs.nih.gov
E

 

F
Joseph T. Hughes Jr, M.P.H.
Program Director
Tel (919) 541-0217
hughes3@niehs.nih.gov
G
Thaddeus T. Schug, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-9469
schugt2@niehs.nih.gov
H

 

I
Martha Barnes
Program Analyst
Tel (919) 541-3336
barnes@niehs.nih.gov
J
Jonathan A. Hollander, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-9467
jonathan.hollander@nih.gov
K
Claudia Thompson, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Population Health Branch
Tel (919) 541-4638
thompso1@niehs.nih.gov
L
Mike Humble, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Basic Science
Tel (919) 316-4621
humble@niehs.nih.gov
M
Sharon D. Beard
Industrial Hygienist
Tel (919) 541-1863
beard1@niehs.nih.gov
N
Kimberly McAllister, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-4528
mcallis2@niehs.nih.gov
O
Fred Tyson, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-0176
tyson2@niehs.nih.gov
P
Heather Henry, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-5330
henryh@niehs.nih.gov
Q
Kimberly Gray, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-0293
gray6@niehs.nih.gov
R
Lisa H. Chadwick, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 491-4702
lisa.chadwick@nih.gov
S
Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-4258
symma.finn@nih.gov
T
Daniel T. Shaughnessy, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-2506
shaughn1@niehs.nih.gov
U
Bonnie R. Joubert, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Epidemiology
Tel (919) 541-7667
bonnie.joubert@nih.gov
V
Leslie Reinlib, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Program Director
Tel (919) 541-4998
reinlib@niehs.nih.gov
W
Liam O'Fallon, M.A.
Program Analyst
Tel (919) 541-7733
ofallon@niehs.nih.gov
X
David Balshaw, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch
Tel (919) 541-2448
balshaw@niehs.nih.gov
Y
Michelle L. Heacock, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Division Extramural Research and Training, Hazardous Substances Research Branch, Superfund Research Program
Tel (919) 541-7824
heacockm@niehs.nih.gov
Z
Sri Nadadur, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-5327
nadadurs@niehs.nih.gov
!
Danielle J. Carlin, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel (919) 541-1409
danielle.carlin@nih.gov
@
Kathy A. Ahlmark
Program Analyst
Tel (919) 541-7825
ahlmark@niehs.nih.gov
$
Astrid C. Haugen
Health Specialist
Summer Supplement Program Administrator
Tel (919) 541-4415
haugen@niehs.nih.gov

Fields 6 and 7 – Secondary Science Code

Two-digit code describing the secondary area of science or coordinating program. See list of science codes above. Code 99 is assigned as a Secondary Science Code for all human subjects/epidemiology projects to assist in the preparation of a Budget Office Report.

Field 8 – Secondary Program Officer

Program Officer with secondary, but significant, science interest in the application or the program such as Conferences, AREA, Fellowships, SBIR, etc. Used to promote coordination of scientific areas among extramural staff.


Last Reviewed: March 21, 2017

This page URL: