The Program Class Code is broken down into eight (8) separate fields, as follows:

Field 1 – Strategic Plan Initiative

Used for DERT's budgetary classification of broad scientific research areas.

Code DERT Budgetary Classification
1 Not used
2 Fundamental Research
3 Integrative Research
4 Health Disparities/Global Environmental Health
5 Exposure Science
6 Training/Career Development
7 Not used
8 Not used
9 Superfund Research (P42)
0 Superfund Training (U45 or R41-R44 Hazmat Training Grants)

Field 2 – Grants Management Specialist (GMS) Code

Grants Management Specialist responsible for fiscal management of the application. Some specialists that are no longer working at NIEHS are listed in case older records still exist for them.

GMS Code Grants Management Specialist
A
C
D
Diane M. D'Agostin, M.S.
Grants Management Specialist
Tel 984-287-3486
diane.dagostin@nih.gov
E
Brian D. Moyer
Grants Management Specialist
Tel 984-287-3046
moyerbr@niehs.nih.gov
G
Jenny L. Greer
Branch Chief
Grants Management Officer
Tel 984-287-3332
jenny.greer@nih.gov
H
Nicole M. Popovich
Grants Management Specialist
Tel 984-287-3306
nicole.popovich@nih.gov
I
Barbara J. Gittleman
Grants Management Officer
Tel 984-287-3261
barbara.gittleman@nih.gov
J
Lisa A. Edwards
Grants Management Officer, Superfund
Tel 984-287-3258
archer@niehs.nih.gov
K
L
Tonya L. McMillan
Management Support Specialist
Tel 984-287-3815
tonya.mcmillan@nih.gov
M
Robbie D. Majors
Grants Management Specialist
Tel 984-287-3284
robbie.majors@nih.gov
N
Aaron Nicholas
Grants Management Officer
Tel 984-287-3297
nicholaa@niehs.nih.gov
O
P
V
Michelle Victalino
Grants Management Officer
Tel 984-287-3336
victalinom@niehs.nih.gov
W
James R. Williams
Grants Management Officer
Tel 984-287-3338
james.williams3@nih.gov

Fields 3 and 4 – Primary Science Code

Two-digit code describing the primary area of science. Blank codes are for future expansion of list.

PS Code Primary Area of Science
01 Cellular/molecular
02  
03 Carcinogenesis /Cell Transformation
04  
05 Signal Transduction
06  
07 Human Genetics / GXE
08  
09 Genomic Integrity
10 Epigenetics
11  
12  
13 Metabolism
14
15 Exposure Assessment / Exposome
16 Mixtures
17 Stem Cell Biology and Cellular Differentiation
18 Structure-Function
19 Comparative Biology
20
21
22 Gene Polymorphism
23 Circadian Rhythms
24  
25 Superfund Basic Research (non-P42 applications)
26  
27 Breast Cancer Centers (U01)
28 Fracking
29 Children’s Centers (P50)
30
31 Environmental Health Sciences Centers (P20, P30)
32
33 Oceans and Human Health
34 Disaster Response
35 Superfund Basic Research Centers (P42)
36  
37 Counter Terrorism
38
39  
40 Gulf Oil Spill / DWH, Gulf Oil Toxicology
41 Cardiovascular
42 Circulatory / Blood (Bone Marrow)
43
44 Fetal Development / Teratogenesis
45 Developmental Origins of Health and Disease
46 Puberty
47 Aging
48 Diabetes
49 Digestive
50 Endocrine
51 Obesity
52 Immune
53 Autoimmune
54 Kidney / Bladder
55 Liver
56 Nutrition
57 Bone and Cartilage
58 Skin
59 Social / Built Environment
60 Nervous System (other - not related to neurodevelopmental or neurodegeneration)
61 Neurodevelopmental
62  
63 Neurodegenerative
64 Basic Mitchondrial Function
65 Reproductive System (Non-Gender Specific)
66 Female Reproduction
67 Male Reproduction
68 Microbiome
69 Respiratory
70 Tissue Engineering
71 Alternative Model Development
72 Predictive Toxicology/Assay Development
73 Bioinformatics / BISTI Related
74 Biosensors / Biomarkers
75 Computational Biology / Computational Methods for Exposure Assessment
76 Imaging
77 Metabonomics Technology
78 Nanotechnology
79 Proteomics
80  
81 Statistics / Algorithm Development
82  
83  
84 Systems Biology
85 Loan Repayment Program
86  
87 Institutional Training and Career Awards
88 Worker Education (U45)
89 ONES (secondary only)
90 AREA (secondary only)
91  
92 ELSI (Ethical Legal and Social Implications)
93 Environmental Justice / Environmental Health Disparities
94 Communication Research / EH Literacy
95 Cook Stoves
96  
97 Partnerships for Environmental Public Health / Community Research
98 Global Change / Climate Change
99 Epidemiology (secondary only)
00 No secondary code

Field 5 – Primary Program Administrator (PA)

Program Officer with primary scientific application management responsibility.

PA Code Program Administrators
A
Abee Boyles, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3241
abee.boyles@nih.gov
B
Jim Remington
Program Analyst
Tel 984-287-3311
remingtonj@niehs.nih.gov
C
Carol A. Shreffler, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3322
shreffl1@niehs.nih.gov
D
Cindy Lawler, Ph.D.
Chief, Genes, Environment, and Health Branch
Tel 984-287-3280
lawler@niehs.nih.gov
E
Jennifer B. Collins
Health Specialist
Tel 984-287-3247
collins6@niehs.nih.gov
F
G
Thaddeus T. Schug, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3319
schugt2@niehs.nih.gov
H
Christopher G. Duncan, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3256
christopher.duncan@nih.gov
I
Toccara A. Chamberlain
Health Specialist
Tel 984-287-4482
toccara.chamberlain@nih.gov
J
Jonathan A. Hollander, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3269
jonathan.hollander@nih.gov
K
Claudia Thompson, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Population Health Branch
Tel 984-287-3330
thompso1@niehs.nih.gov
L
Mike Humble, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Basic Science
Tel 984-287-3272
humble@niehs.nih.gov
M
Sharon D. Beard
Industrial Hygienist
Tel 984-287-3237
beard1@niehs.nih.gov
N
Kimberly McAllister, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3287
mcallis2@niehs.nih.gov
O
Fred Tyson, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3334
tyson2@niehs.nih.gov
P
Heather Henry, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Superfund Research Program
Tel 984-287-3268
henryh@niehs.nih.gov
Q
Kimberly Gray, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3262
gray6@niehs.nih.gov
R
Anika L. Dzierlenga, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3125
anika.dzierlenga@nih.gov
S
Lindsey A. Martin, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-4036
lindsey.martin@nih.gov
T
Daniel T. Shaughnessy, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3321
shaughn1@niehs.nih.gov
U
Bonnie R. Joubert, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3276
bonnie.joubert@nih.gov
V
W
Liam O'Fallon, M.A.
Health Specialist
Tel 984-287-3298
ofallon@niehs.nih.gov
X
David Balshaw, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch
Tel 984-287-3234
balshaw@niehs.nih.gov
Y
Michelle L. Heacock, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3267
heacockm@niehs.nih.gov
Z
Sri Nadadur, Ph.D.
Director, NIEHS CounterACT
Tel 984-287-3296
nadadurs@niehs.nih.gov
!
Danielle J. Carlin, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3244
danielle.carlin@nih.gov
@
Kathy A. Ahlmark
Program Analyst
Tel 984-287-3231
ahlmark@niehs.nih.gov
$
Astrid C. Haugen
Health Specialist
Tel 984-287-3266
haugen@niehs.nih.gov
?
Lingamanaidu V. Ravichandran, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3309
lingamanaidu.ravichandran@nih.gov
*
Brittany A. Trottier, M.P.H.
Health Specialist, Superfund Research Program
Tel 984-287-3331
brittany.trottier@nih.gov
%
Yuxia Cui, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-3251
yuxia.cui@nih.gov
^
Lindsey A. Martin, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Tel 984-287-4036
lindsey.martin@nih.gov

Fields 6 and 7 – Secondary Science Code

Two-digit code describing the secondary area of science or coordinating program. See list of science codes above. Code 99 is assigned as a Secondary Science Code for all human subjects/epidemiology projects to assist in the preparation of a Budget Office Report.

Field 8 – Secondary Program Officer

Program Officer with secondary, but significant, science interest in the application or the program such as Conferences, AREA, Fellowships, SBIR, etc. Used to promote coordination of scientific areas among extramural staff.

Contact

Steven N. Tuyishime, Ph.D.
Steven N. Tuyishime, Ph.D.
Health Specialist
Tel 984-287-3333
steven.tuyishime@nih.gov

Last Reviewed: February 04, 2022

This page URL: